//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Striking the Right Balance : Librarianship and the Rest of Life

someecard created by the Australian Library and Information Association

I love being a librarian! It is such a fun and rewarding career. Being a librarian is my passion.I would almost say it’s a calling!

But for most librarians, the job actually involves… well… a lot of work. There are budgets to balance, books or other documents to buy, spaces to update, programs to reevaluate and improve, outreach, politicking, and on top of all that there’s a bunch of staff to manage! Of course the variety is one of the things that makes librarianship so interesting.  And at times it can also be a little exhausting…

Striking the right balance between work and home life is a challenge for so many people.   For myself, work-life balance means prioritizing, deciding what’s most important to me. The only problem is that so many things are important to me!

So what’s a librarian to do? I say, work at it. Trial and error. Where to start? Here are 2 great TED talks to give you a few ideas.

 

 

About Kayleigh Felice

I am a 20-something public librarian trying to find my footing as I start my career, take on new challenges, and enter adulthood (whatever that means). I live in Ontario, and I work for the Gatineau Municipal Library in Québec. Disclosure: The views expressed in this blog are solely my own, not those of my employer.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

